Sierra Nevada Local Section

American Chemical Society

The ACS Sierra Nevada Section encompasses Carson, Churchill, Douglas, Lyon, Mineral, Pershing, Storey, and Washoe counties in northwestern Nevada. Most section activities and meetings are held in the Reno/Sparks area.

Meeting Announcements

Monday, September 8, 2014

Great Basin Brewery Tour, Presentation and Tasting

, Brew Master, Great Basin Brewery

Tour and talk start at 5:30 p.m.; Beer tasting and appetizer to follow, $10 per person

Great Basin Brewery, 5525 S. Virginia St, Reno, Nevada

Reservations required by Wednesday, September 3, to Bill Boon at

Tuesday, September 16, 2014


Dr. Kent Hoekmann, Research Professor, Desert Research Institute

Joint meeting of interest sponsored by the Air and Waste Management Association, Eastern Sierra Chapter

11:45 a.m., DRI Stout A 182, 2215 Raggio Parkway, Reno, Nevada 89512

11:45 a.m. Pizza and registration, 12:00 noon talk, 12:45 p.m. Q&A

FORTHCOMING: October 9, 2014

Sierra Nevada ACS Distinguished Chemist Lecture

Professor John F. Hartwig, University of California, Berkeley<

Washoe Steakhouse, details to be announced

2014 Section Meetings & Events

Section Officers (2014)

The Sierra Nevada Distinguished Chemist Award

This award and lectureship is awarded biennially by the Sierra Nevada Section of the American Chemical Society to a scientist who has made major contributions to Chemistry. The award was first given in 1993.

1993: Professor Dudley R. Hershbach, Harvard University
1995: Professor Harry B. Gray, California Institute of Technology
1997: Professor W. Carl Lineberger, University of Colorado, Boulder
1999: Professor George M. Whitesides, Harvard University
2001: Professor Richard N. Zare, Stanford University
2003: Professor Graham Fleming, University of California, Berkeley
2005: Professor Jack Norton, Columbia University
2007: Professor Maurice Brookhart, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
2009: Professor Kenneth D. Karlin, Johns Hopkins University
2011: Professor Alan Balch, University of California, Davis
2013: Professor Melanie Sanford, University of Michigan

Section Archives

Officers and programs from previous years.